Romantic Masterpieces with Symphony of the Americas

The Broward Center for the Performing Arts of Fort Lauderdale, was filled with an enthusiastic crowd of music lovers and fans of the Symphony of The Americas excellent programs. This time dedicated to the romantic composers, showcasing the music of Weber, Beethoven, Bizet and Glazunov. The varied and colorful program created by Musical Director and Conductor Maestro James Brooks-Bruzzese includes music from three different countries form the romantic era. The first peace "Invitation to the Dance" by Carl Maria von Weber known as the father of the German Romantic Opera.

Composed as a piano miniature and orchestrated by the magician of instrumental color Hector Berlioz.The score begins with a Cello solo inviting to a waltz and continues in crescendo with wind instruments and full orchestra, this peace is an antecedent to the Viennese waltz era of Strauss. The Symphony of the Americas performed with energy and precision led by Maestro James Brooks-Bruzzese. Following we enjoyed the “Piano Concerto No 4 in G Major by Beethoven” performed by renowned pianist Enrique Graf. This piano Concerto is one of the most sensitive works by the genius of Beethoven, is a peace created to showcase a virtuoso piano playing. Passionate and melodic lines appear in a series of repetitive musical themes, with brilliance and color in the Allegro moderato and Rondo Vivace and with melancholic and warm cadensas in the Andante con Moto. Soloist Enrique Graf played with brilliant technique, moving his fingers at the speed of the light, perfect intonation and clarity of his playing illuminated the beautiful score. In the more slow and passionate part, Graf performed a difficult pianissimo, Maestro Brooks was sensitive to the feelings of the soloist and had a good coordination with the Orchestra. The third peace “L’Arlesienne Suite No 1”, by French composer Georges Bizet, one of the best well known composers of the XIX century and the composer of the famous Opera “Carmen”. Bizet began composing at the early age of seventeen and had a short but vital musical life. The melodies of LArlesiene have been used for Ballet and are inspired on the story of a daring fame fatal that lived in the French Province. The spirit of Bizet is present in the beautiful romantic melodies sung by the brilliant orchestration, giving us the impression that the Orchestra and the conductor danced along the musical waves, bringing the audience to applaud in between movements. The last peace was the brilliant and most modern score, Excerpts from “Raymonda” by Russian composer Alexander Glazunov (1865-1936). A prolific composer, wrote this music for a ballet by Petipa. Rich in melodic inspiration and gleaming color the score lifts us in a dream of excitement and light. A very appropriate ending to this beautiful romantic concert by Symphony of the Americas. Bravo! By Vivian Fulop-Shlesinger
Miami Concerts Examiner
Vivian is the creator and host of "Vive Miami" a Culture, Arts and entertainment news segment for TV with the purpose to recommend the best events... Read more

Like. Friend. Follow.

Like us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Watch our videosFollow us on Google+

Contact Us

Symphony Of The Americas

Location 2300 E. Oakland Park Blvd. Studio # 306
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida 33306
Email Us E-Mail: info@sota.org
Call Us

Main Office: 954-335-7002

Find Symphony of the Americas on CultureForce APP

Major Sponsors

Browrd Cultural Division

Wells Fargo Bank

culture owl