Symphony of the Americas James Brooks-Bruzzese / Eugenia Zukerman / Katie Ott Dvorak / Mozart / Beethoven

The indefatigable James Brooks-Bruzzese took the stage of the Amaturo Theater at the Broward Center for the Performing Arts on April 17 for the final concert of the Symphony of the Americas’ 19th season. From the exuberant high spirits of Dvorak’s Slavonic Dance No.8 to the rousing encores, the concert aptly demonstrated this conductor’s formidable accomplishments. This orchestra is now a supple, precise ensemble that excels in a wide variety of repertoire.

Mozart’s Concerto for Flute and Harp is a gem. This score abounds with inspired melodies, subtle instrumental writing, and the sheer creative genius of the Salzburg wunderkind. Eugenia Zukerman was a stellar soloist. The dulcet hues of her crystalline flute embraced Mozart’s melismas with the soft beauty of incandescence. She essayed the soaring bel canto lines of the Andantino with the grace and flexibility of a superb chamber player. Her exhilarating reading of the Allegro finale capped a delightful performance.

Harpist Katie Ott’s playing was always stylish and deftly articulated. She blended with Zukerman’s sweet tones seamlessly. Brooks-Bruzzese’s moderate tempos and ingratiating support had the intimacy and warmth of fine chamber music. As an encore, Zukerman and Ott offered a Spanish tinged piece by the Frenchman Jacques Ibert, played with ravishing elegance and élan.

Brooks-Bruzzese’s strong, virile reading of Beethoven’s Symphony No.8 in F Major captured the joyous verve of this most sunny of symphonies by the master from Bonn. His alert, vigorous tempos in the opening Allegro vivace e con brio were rousing indeed. He captured the wit of the Allegretto scherzando with particularly suave playing from the strings. The orchestra’s horns shone resplendently in the trio section of the Tempo di Menuetto which flowed with disarming ease. In the concluding Allegro vivace, Brooks-Bruzzese balanced the humor and Mozartean orchestral felicities of this vivacious symphonic milestone.

Turning to the Pops repertoire, Brooks-Bruzzese unfurled a swinging version of John Kander’s New York, New York and a stirring rendition of Sousa’s perennial Stars and Stripes Forever, played with sterling musicianship as well as fervor.

Symphony of the Americas James Brooks-Bruzzese / Chin Kim / Gershwin Mendelssohn / Schubert

Franz Schubert’s Symphony No.6 may be the least played of that master’s symphonies. That made the felicitous performance by the Symphony of the Americas under the baton of James Brooks-Bruzzese on February 20 at the Broward Center’s Amaturo Theater all the more revelatory. Schubert was greatly influenced by the opera buffas of Gioacchino Rossini which were all the rage in the Vienna of 1816. Brooks-Bruzzese delivered Italianate charm aplenty in Schubert’s delightful “little C Major” symphony (as differentiated from the composer’s 9th Symphony – “the Great C Major”).

The conductor infused the opening movement with Rossinian brio. Wonderfully precise and nuanced string playing was a pleasure to hear. Colorful woodwinds captured the wit and sudden minor key modulations with aplomb. The bewitching Andante was spun with elegant charm. Brooks-Bruzzese vividly conveyed the Haydnesque humor of the Scherzo Presto. Schubert’s quirky finale was rendered with invigorating élan. The stylishness and instrumental clarity of the entire performance were utterly delightful.

In a program that featured works by three composers who lived only into their thirties, Korean violinist Chin Kim was soloist in Mendelssohn’s eternal Violin Concerto in E Minor. Kim’s interpretation did not lack passion or romantic impetuosity but his tone was small and harsh. In the final movement he handled the lightning fire pyrotechnics astutely. Brooks-Bruzzese offered protean accompaniment.

The conductor opened the program with an arrangement by Robert McBride of the Overture to the musical Girl Crazy by George Gershwin. The orchestra’s snappy, dashing performance had the quintessential sound of a great Broadway pit ensemble.

James Brook-Bruzzese / Enrique Graf / Ciro Symphony of the Americas Fodore Mozart / Poulenc/Walton / Gutierrez / Magallanes Ctystalline Lightness

James Brooks-Bruzzese’s Symphony of the Americas has rarely sounded better than at its opening concert of the season on October 24 at the Broward Center’s Amaturo Theater. A generous program of Latin tinged pieces, a jazzy French soufflé, and a Florida premiere made for delightful musical fare.

The Uruguayan born pianist Enrique Graf was the evening’s star soloist in more ways than one. Graf, an old fashioned virtuoso, possesses a formidable keyboard technique. The most demanding scores hold no terrors for him. A pupil of Leon Fleisher, Graf counts the First Prize in the prestigious William Kapell International Competition among his awards.

In Ravel’s Concerto in G Major, Graf attacked the opening Allegramente with the kind of darting virtuosity and stylistic command that spells great pianism. Eschewing sentimentality, Graf brought Mozartean simplicity of line and phrase to the Adagio assai. (Ravel considered Mozart and Saint-Saens his models for this score; Graf was stylistically apt.) The final Presto brimmed with jazzy effervescence and torrents of virtuosity. Brooks-Bruzzese provided rhythmically energetic, stellar support. The orchestra offered suave playing with particularly brilliant flute and trumpet solos. Charlene Conner’s harp glistened in an extended solo turn in the first movement.

Graf is a faculty member of the College of Charleston. Fellow faculty member Edward Hart wrote his Tidal Concerto for Graf. This sweeping work is a richly romantic piano showpiece with strong roots in the Tchaikovsky-Rachmaninoff tradition. The work’s opening movement – Ebb – represents the composer at his most imaginative. Austere opening chords (with strong percussive underpinnings) lead to a surging orchestral peroration. A jazz inspired principal theme suggests Dave Brubeck. The final movement – Flood – is grandly cinematic in a quasi Miklos Rozsa manner. Hart’s score is superbly crafted and immediately appealing. It is also a bravura vehicle par excellence. Graf brought conviction, pianistic fireworks, and tremendous passion to every bar. The Symphony of the Americas players offered crackling accompaniment with particularly lush string tone and a rhythmically incisive percussion battery.

Brooks-Bruzzese led an exhilarating account of Two Dances from the ballet score The Three Cornered Hat by Manuel de Falla. The Neighbor’s Dance throbbed with Andalusian color. Sparkling strings and elegant woodwinds weaved a magical spell. Brooks-Bruzzese turned up the heat for The Miller’s Dance which overflowed with instrumental pastels and visceral excitement. The Ritual Fire Dance from Falla’s El Amor Brujo had intensity to spare.

Best of all was Brooks-Bruzzese’s invigorating performance of Emmanuel Chabrier’s Espana Rhapsody. While Chabrier’s output was comparatively small, he was a superb composer. The conductor reveled in Chabrier’s evocation of Spain. Lush, brilliant bursts of orchestral coloration personified the Symphony of the Americas’ terrific performance.

As an encore, Brooks-Bruzzese led a lively, elegantly sculpted rendition of Leroy Anderson’s Blue Tango – a wonderful bon-bon to conclude a festive evening of music.

  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • Like. Friend. Follow.

    Like us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Watch our videosFollow us on Google+

    Contact Us

    Symphony Of The Americas

    Location 2300 E. Oakland Park Blvd. Studio # 306
    Ft. Lauderdale, Florida 33306
    Email Us E-Mail: info@sota.org
    Call Us

    Main Office: 954-335-7002

    Find Symphony of the Americas on CultureForce APP

    Major Sponsors

    Browrd Cultural Division

    Wells Fargo Bank

    culture owl